Speaking of Vacations…

Speaking of Vacations….I’ve been having a blast this week at the Book Lover’s Com in New Orleans.  Because I’ve been busy with travel, sightseeing, and the other fun conventions activities I haven’t had time to post.   I thought I’d take a moment through a share a couple of photos from New Orleans and another little snippet from my newest release, The Guardian’s Ground Rules.

The first picture is a Riverboat along the Mississippi, the 2nd was my first dinner, real-life southern fried chicken! and the 3rd was a little outdoor cafe where I had breakfast and enjoyed some live jazz music!

 

And as promised here is another little snippet from the Guardian’s Ground Rules.  Sometimes our characters also need a little break, and here is a bit about Silver and Keridwen’s ‘Vacation’….


“Maybe we should have stayed for dinner,” Keridwen tried.

“They will be fine, honey,” Silver replied, smiling slightly as Keridwen attempted to distract her.   She was a little worried about the girls too, but not irrationally so.  They’d be fine.  It wasn’t like they hadn’t been away from them at night before, and as she reassured Keridwen earlier, they were only a phone call away.  In a way it was really more reassuring to leave them here on Earth, at least they could still communicate through technology.  That was much harder to do in Sangria.

“What about us?  Aren’t you hungry?”

“You had that sandwich before we left the house.  You’re still hungry?”

“Not really,” Keridwen was forced to admit as she slouched down lower in her chair.  “I just don’t want to go back yet.”

“Why?”

“Could we go see a movie?  I saw a commercial for one that looked interesting.  It was about this explorer that gets caught, um, somewhere in a desert. But then there is this room full of snakes…”

Silver wrinkled her nose, interrupting Keridwen’s rant.  “I saw an advertisement for that too.  It’s rated R.  You’re not seeing that while you’re short.  Maybe later in the week, we can find something more appropriate.”

“I’m not actually ten,” Keridwen deadpanned.

“I know, but I don’t really like you seeing that kind of stuff anyway.  You remember what happened after the Indiana Jones disaster.”

“So, outrunning rocks isn’t as easy as it looked.  No one got hurt, well seriously hurt.”

Silver rolled her eyes.  “We need to go home, Keridwen.  You and I need to have a serious conversation.”

“But Silver, I don’t want a spanking.”

“Did I say anything about a spanking?”

“Serious conversation?  What else could that mean?”

“Maybe it means that I want to talk to you, Keridwen.”

“Talk, chat, discussion, conversation, it all means the same thing,” Keridwen huffed.

“Talk, chat, or the rest of that could mean just to talk too, Keridwen.  I wasn’t planning on spanking you, but if you continue down this path, I think that’s where we are going to end up.  It’s like you are trying to talk me into it.”

“I won’t have to talk you into anything once you hear the whole story,” Keridwen grumbled and then winced.  “I said that out loud, didn’t I?”

“Yes, and now I’m curious.  I think that conversation should start right now,” Silver turned, catching her eye for a moment and raising an eyebrow.

Seeing the eyebrow, Keridwen sighed.  “It’s not my fault I’m forced to say the truth.  You shouldn’t hold that against me.”

“Keridwen, start talking.”

“Can it wait until we get back?  I think it would be easier to just show you.  And well, you are driving.  You always say not to distract you when you are driving.”

“Alright, you can have until we get home.  But as soon as we get there, you better be prepared to start talking.”